Applying to Public Health Schools to Study Maternal and Child Health

02/18/2020

I am currently in the process of trying to get into Masters programs for Maternal and Child Health. I thought I would share with you my essay for my applications because it really sums up what I am hoping to achieve, what I believe in, how I got here, and what I am passionate about. So, here it is:


My first solo-birth as a doula had a major impact on my desire to pursue a Masters in Public Health. As I drove to Massachusetts General Hospital to attend this birth, I thought about all of the moments that had brought me to this point. I had attended Rebozo and Spinning BabiesĀ® workshops and Childbirth Educator trainings, engaged in heated debates on the topic of home birth and held impromptu lessons on childbirth with my peers, read countless books on midwifery, postpartum mood disorders, nutrition during pregnancy, and even earned the nickname "birth girl" in one of my classes at Boston College. It had been a long time coming since my interest in the birthing process was piqued after hearing alarming statistics regarding the state of our maternity care system in the U.S. and deciding that birth work was my purpose and calling. I researched ways that I could make an impact in this realm and chose a birth doula training to begin, which inspired the many trainings and self-learning that followed.


Arriving at my first solo-birth as a doula was a pivotal moment for me, and more importantly, leaving it was a proud moment. It was this single mom's first pregnancy. She had immigrated to the U.S. from Belarus alone and had the strength and determination to have an unmedicated childbirth. I agreed to transport her to the hospital when the time arrived and I offered pro-bono doula services. When we arrived at the hospital, she labored in nearly every position possible, used nitrous oxide to take the edge off during contractions, and trusted her body to do what it knew how to do. I'd like to think my presence was helpful to her in some way, but as I sat next to her while she labored, I felt honored to be in her presence. She was doing the work, not I. I had heard many doulas say that this profession is all about "holding the space," but now I understood what that meant. When I reflect on the experience, I think about the subtle ways I supported her: encouraging her to labor at home as long as possible because she wanted a low-intervention birth and providing her with distractions and coping methods for early labor, repeating to the midwife that she wanted as few vaginal exams as possible, promoting the use of nitrous oxide for pain relief and the use of the rebozo for something to pull on while pushing, keeping the lights low and the room quiet, and quietly whispering words of encouragement.


Through supporting birthing people, I've witnessed the inequities in our Maternity Care system and the unacceptable, unfair treatment of birthing people. It should not matter where you are giving birth, where you are from, which ethnicity you are, or what your socioeconomic status is; your preferences should be respected and your autonomy honored in the birth place. I will continue advocating for individuals on the micro-level as a dedicated doula and educator, but desire to also work on macro-level reproductive policy and rights issues within Maternal and Child Health. My goals in pursuing a Masters in Public Health with a concentration in Maternal and Child Health are as follows:

  • Create and implement programs, policies, and interventions that support the best interests and well-being of mothers and children.

  • Reduce health inequities in the U.S. maternity care system to better health outcomes for all.

  • Increase access to quality care for all women and children, including implementing culturally tailored, evidence-based, individualized care that is sensitive to the needs of families from different backgrounds.

  • Increase access to evidence-based prenatal and postnatal educational programs in efforts to empower individuals so they are comfortable advocating for their health needs and preferences and those of their children.

  • Reduce maternal and infant mortality in the U.S. through the aforementioned efforts.

XYZ's  program is appealing to me because of your comprehensive public health curriculum as well as your Center of Excellence in Maternal and Child Health. Considering my commitment to MCH work, having the opportunity to attend a school with a Center of Excellence in MCH is crucial because it will provide me with supplemental learning opportunities as well as help me to expand my network within the field, leading to an increased ability to create meaningful impact on individuals and families.


My time at Boston College has prepared me academically for a rigorous Masters program. I studied in the Carroll School of Management and believe that my business background will contribute to the field of public health in several ways. Primarily, I want to work toward improving the systems currently in place so as to improve health outcomes. In order to do this, funding, budgeting and financial planning, and cost-benefit analyses are necessary in any organization or federal/state program to ensure success. To create positive and meaningful impact in this realm, one must possess strong managerial skills that are necessary to create change, as well as the empathy gained by having worked in the current system, and the knowledge surrounding routine birthing practices and evidence based care.


In summary, if accepted into your program, I will work tirelessly to learn and participate as much as possible so that I can use my skills and knowledge to contribute to the world of Maternal and Child Health post-graduation. I believe my strong academic record, demonstrated dedication to and passion for Reproductive Health, and extensive training in birth work make me an ideal candidate for your program.


Sacred Support Doula Services
All rights reserved 2021
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started